Champion the Cure Challenge, the region’s only event whose proceeds fund local cancer patient care and research, proudly celebrates the individuals, businesses, and organizations that help bring the best treatments to Maine, contribute to future cures, and inspire others to join in the fight to defeat cancer. Each year, The Challenge recognizes several honorees who are extraordinarily dedicated to the cause.

Our 2023 Champion the Cure Challenge honorees will be announced soon!

Honorary Chair: Carrie Meo
Terry Fox: Kerry Jordan
Corporate: Season’s
Community: Mimi’s Softball Tournament
Employee Champion: Joanie Whitsel
Volunteer: Jess Francis


Past honorees:

Honorary Chair

2010 Lynne Spooner

2011 Jon and Nancy Dawson

2012 Thomas Openshaw, MD

2013 George Hale

2014 Susan O’Connor, MD

2015 Ric Tyler

2016 Geaghan Family

2017 Bill and Cookie Horner

2018 Marcy Black, RN

2019 Deborah Carey Johnson

2020 Brenda Farnham

2021 Allen L’Italien, RN, OCN

2022 Anita Peavey Haskell


Terry Fox Award

2010 Jeff Bennett and John Long, MD

2011 Don and Dora Winslow

2012 Sarah Robinson (posthumously)

2013 Kevin Griffin

2014 Judy Collier

2015 Jon Henry

2016 Caleb McGary

2017 Larry Morrill and Mike Openshaw (posthumously)

2018 Gert Nesin

2019 Michele Campbell

2020 D'arcy Main-Boyington

2021 Marie Stewart-Downing, Mart Lapin (posthumously) Sienna Probert (posthumously)

2022 Clayton Cole and Kim White (posthumously) 


Volunteers of the Year

2013 Tom Violette

2014 Carole Quigley

2015 Veronica Levesque

2016 Tim Smith

2017 Jaclyn Silk

2018 Lorilei Porter

2019 Deb Neuman

2020 Memorymaker Photography and Nancy O’Connor Photography

2021 Jill Smith

2022 Peggy Brown


Youth Champion

2011 Logan Lafayette

2012 Tommy Hosmer

2013 Carly and Johannah Philbrick

2015 Tyler Priest

2016 Athletes of Big Ten Cheer

2017 Madison and Brady Davis

2018 John Bapst Memorial High School Cheerleaders

2019 Parker Brown

2020 Brewer High School Cheerleaders

2022 Boy Scouts Troop 1 Brewer


Corporate Champion Award

2010 Blueberry Broadcasting

2011 Dysart’s

2012 People’s United Bank

2013 Hollywood Casino

2014 Lanham, Blackwell & Baber

2015 Katahdin Trust

2016 Darling’s

2017 Downeast Toyota

2018 Dunkin’

2019 Mt. Waldo Plastics

2020 Katahdin Trust Company

2021 Maine Savings Federal Credit Union

2022 Osborne Media


Community Champion Award

2014 Husson University, School of Hospitality

2015 The Rock Church

2016 Charleston Church

2017 Anthony John’s Day Spa and Salon

2018 Pat’s Bike Shop, Rose Bike, Ski Rack Sports, and Slipping Gears

2019 Ntension

2020 Target   

2021 Healy Chiropractic

2022 Fishing for a Cure     


Ray of Light Award

2018 Rita Brooks


Employee Champion of the Year

2022 Nikki More