Champion the Cure Challenge, the region’s only event whose proceeds fund local cancer patient care and research, proudly celebrates the individuals, businesses, and organizations that help bring the best treatments to Maine, contribute to future cures, and inspire others to join in the fight to defeat cancer. Each year, The Challenge recognizes several honorees who are extraordinarily dedicated to the cause. Champion the Cure Challenge is pleased to recognize its 2022 Honorees:

CTCC honorees.jpg

Anita Peavey Haskell, Honorary Chair
Anita’s support for pediatric cancer care is inspired by her son Raish, who passed away at the age of four from cancer. Over the years, her dedication to improving care for child and adolescent cancer patients in Maine has been unparalleled. While Anita’s commitment to regional cancer care has taken many forms, she and her husband Leon’s generosity notably led the way in creating The Raish Peavey Haskell Children’s Cancer and Treatment Center located at the Lafayette Family Cancer Institute.

Clayton Cole and Kim White, Terry Fox Award
Clayton, a cancer survivor, energizes the region’s paddling community to come together to support Maine-based cancer treatment and research. The driving force behind the Champion the Cure Challenge paddle event on the Penobscot River, Clayton successfully promotes the cause, plans the routes, and coordinates event day activities.

Kim, honored posthumously, inspired other survivors as she approached her cancer journey with determination and courage. With friends, families, and co-workers by her side every step of the way, Kim lived life like there was no tomorrow. An active Challenge participant, Kim provided guidance, raised funds, and promoted the event. Kim’s family, friends, as well as her co-workers at Darling’s Auto Group take The Challenge in her memory.

Nikki More, Employee Champion
An Information Systems employee at Northern Light Health and owner of Humble Sight Photography, Nikki captures the energy and spirit of The Challenge each year as a volunteer photographer. Her knack for getting the right photo at the right time helps to promote the event, recognize survivors and supporters, and encourage other employees to get involved.

Osborne Media, Corporate Champion
A Bangor-based creative agency, Osborne Media lends their talent for storytelling to The Challenge to motivate families, survivors, businesses, and others to join the fight against cancer in Maine. The Osborne team’s incredible videos capture the emotion of the event and remind everyone involved how taking The Challenge affects the lives of survivors and families.

Peggy Brown, Volunteer of the Year
Peggy, a longtime employee of presenting sponsor Lafayette Hotels, is tireless in her commitment to making The Challenge a success. Often behind the scenes but always appreciated, Peggy manages a rest stop on the cycle route, helps with signage, and is willing to assist with anything that is needed to make The Challenge a success.

Fishing for a Cure, Community Champion
Year after year, team Fishing for a Cure sets the bar high for participation and fundraising for other teams to follow. Fishing for a Cure celebrates the life of Brandon Washburn, who started the team to give back as he battled cancer with strength and courage until he passed away at the age of 25. Brandon’s memory lives on through the impact that Fishing for a Cure makes in the lives of Northern Light Cancer Care patients.

Boy Scouts Troop 1 Brewer, Youth Champion
For the Boy Scouts Troop 1 Brewer, the real work begins after the last Champion the Cure Challenge participants have left the Brewer walk/run/cycle event site. The youth in Troop 1 generously volunteer their time to clean up and organize the event site with a great attitude and attention to detail. Leading by example, the Boy Scouts show that Mainers of all ages can make a difference in the fight against cancer.


Past honorees:

Honorary Chair

2010 Lynne Spooner

2011 Jon and Nancy Dawson

2012 Thomas Openshaw, MD

2013 George Hale

2014 Susan O’Connor, MD

2015 Ric Tyler

2016 Geaghan Family

2017 Bill and Cookie Horner

2018 Marcy Black, RN

2019 Deborah Carey Johnson

2020 Brenda Farnham

2021 Allen L’Italien, RN, OCN


Terry Fox Award

2010 Jeff Bennett and John Long, MD

2011 Don and Dora Winslow

2012 Sarah Robinson (posthumously)

2013 Kevin Griffin

2014 Judy Collier

2015 Jon Henry

2016 Caleb McGary

2017 Larry Morrill and Mike Openshaw (posthumously)

2018 Gert Nesin

2019 Michele Campbell

2020 D'arcy Main-Boyington


2021 Marie Stewart-Downing, Mart Lapin (posthumously, Sienna Probert (posthumously)


Volunteers of the Year

2013 Tom Violette

2014 Carole Quigley

2015 Veronica Levesque

2016 Tim Smith

2017 Jaclyn Silk

2018 Lorilei Porter

2019 Deb Neuman

2020 Memorymaker Photography and Nancy O’Connor Photography

2021 Jill Smith


Youth Champion

2011 Logan Lafayette

2012 Tommy Hosmer

2013 Carly and Johannah Philbrick

2015 Tyler Priest

2016 Athletes of Big Ten Cheer

2017 Madison and Brady Davis

2018 John Bapst Memorial High School Cheerleaders

2019 Parker Brown

2020 Brewer High School Cheerleaders


Corporate Champion Award

2010 Blueberry Broadcasting

2011 Dysart’s

2012 People’s United Bank

2013 Hollywood Casino

2014 Lanham, Blackwell & Baber

2015 Katahdin Trust

2016 Darling’s

2017 Downeast Toyota

2018 Dunkin’

2019 Mt. Waldo Plastics

2020 Katahdin Trust Company

2021 Maine Savings Federal Credit Union


Community Champion Award

2014 Husson University, School of Hospitality

2015 The Rock Church

2016 Charleston Church

2017 Anthony John’s Day Spa and Salon

2018 Pat’s Bike Shop, Rose Bike, Ski Rack Sports, Slipping Gears (Ski Rack and Slipping Gears

2019 Ntension

2020 Target   

2021 Healy Chiropractic     


Ray of Light Award

2018 Rita Brooks